21 Jan 3rd Singkuwento International Film Festival: Finalists Revealed!



The organizers of the 3rd Singkuwento International Film Festival (SIMFF) have announced the finalists of its documentary and short film categories in time for the festival’s weeklong run from Feb. 19 to 27 at the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) in Intramuros, Manila and from March 2 to 4 and March 7 to 8 at the UPFI UP Film Center UP Diliman Quezon City.



“The members of the screening committee really had a hard time choosing the finalists. They worked on the line-up even during the holidays,” said festival director Perry Escaño. “I expect this to be an exciting year for Singkuwento with the varied, unique and unpredictable stories it will be exhibiting.”


Louie Ignacio’s “Laut,” starring Barbie Forteza, is this year’s opening film, which will be screened at the Leandro Locsin Theater on Feb. 19, 6:30 p.m, after the SIMFF opening ceremony.


Three finalists will battle in the local documentary category. They are the following:


“A Family Reunion,” by director Sherbien Dacalanio (Quezon City), from the Goethe-Institut Philippines; “Naglalahong Pamana” (Fading Heritage), by directors Lucy Lavirotte, Berna Sastrillo, David Levi and Jerrica Manongdo (Quezon City) from the University of the Philippines Diliman; and “Sagisag” (A Symbol), by Pauline Mae Gonida (Valenzuela), from the Colegio de San Juan de Letran Manila.


Twenty eight finalists will be battling in the short film category. The four films from the province of Bulacan are as follows: “Incubo” (Incubus), by Herwin Cabasal, from UP Diliman; “Mr. Postman,” by Herwin Cabasal, from UP Diliman; “Reyna Christina” (Queen Christina),” by Pia Larina Dimagiba, UP Diliman; “Upos,” by Mel Jastine Sanchez, from CEU Malolos.


The lone finalist from Cavite is “Kyel,” by Arvin Kadiboy Belarmino, from De La Salle Uiversity- Dasmariñas, while from Laguna is “Indifference,” by Alfonso Silva, from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde Manila.


“Psychonaut,” by Jomz Ramirez, from UP Los Baños, is from Mandaluyong City, while “The Girlfriend Experience,” by Marco Gatchalian, from Mapua Institute of Technology Manila is from Makati City.


From Manila are “Caretaker,” by Seymour B. Sanchez, from UP Diliman; “Makata” (The Little Poet), by Paulo Parohinog, from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; “Finish Line,” by Martin Mayuga, from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; “Si Narra at ang Lihim na Silid sa Paradiso” (Narra and the Hidden Room Paradiso),” by Janine T. Maniego, from UP Diliman.


Representing Muntinlupa City is “The Truth as Told in Lies,” by Inigo Ramil Gorgetti, from UP Diliman. From Paranaque City are “Caritas,” by Ariel Buenaventura II, from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; and “Gastusing Dasal,” by Rico Entico, from UP Diliman. From San Juan is “Cups Ka Ba?,” by Juan Carlo Tarobal, from UP Diliman.


The two entries from Pampanga are “Anyang Melagas ya ing Tangke king Sala” (Broken from the Stem of Light), by Rey Tamayo Jr., from UP Diliman; and “Tuknang Mu Rin” (Will End), by Brianne Carlo Amparado, from Holy Angel University.


The finalists from Tarlac are “Ratatat Nang Dante” (Dante’s Shot), by Jasper Ramon Tulabot, from Tarlac State University; and “Trio,” by Ian Christopher M. Cruz, also from Tarlac State Univesity.


The two entries from Taytay, Rizal, are “Kalaro” (Playmate), by Migo Matas, from Asia Pacific Film Institute; and “Walang Nakakita” (No One Saw), codirected by Migo and Coke Matas, from Asia Pacific Film Institute.


The six entries from Quezon City are as follows: “Balikbayan Box,” by Karl Justin Martin, from New Era University; “Ipinanganak na Nakayapak”(Born Barefoot), by Jerrica Angela A. Manongdo, from UP Diliman; “Man in the Cinema House,” by Bernard Jay Mercado, from UP Diliman; “Minsan sa Isang Dapithapon” (Once at Dusk), by Janna Uy, from Philippine Women’s University; “Senisado” (The Gray Lines), by John Peter Chua, from Ateneo de Manila University; and “The Swindler,” by Jae-re Louise Liwanag, from Colegio de San Juan De Letran Manila.


The finalists for the international category short film and documentary are as follows: For Documentary Film (International Category) are from Germany / France, “Glaube Sitte Heimat (Cross and Banner), by Jürgen Ellinghaus, Philippines, “Sukat (Measure),” by  Jae-re Louise Liwanag, a Colegio de San Juan De Letran student and United Kingdom, “Meteorite Hunters,” by Laura Binnie. For Short Film (International Category): Two entries from Philippines “Ang Mga Alingawngaw Sa Panahon ng Pagpasya (Echoes in Midst of Indecision),” by Hector Barretto Calma, alumni from PUP Manila and  “Mga Handuraw Sa Kahilitan (Daydreams of Wilderness),” by  Amaya Han, a University of San Carlos Cebu City alumna.  One entry from Korea, “The Saviour,” by Nash Ang and one from Taiwan, “Expatz ( Gringos Locos),” by Jimmie Wing.


SIFFMP tickets and festival pass are now available via TicketWorld outlets or you can call them at (891-9999).


Facebook Comments