09 Nov Of Gold Crowns and the Philippine Terno



By Jay Patao
Photography by Collin Yap


A 25-year-old entrepreneur from Zambales led winners of the newly-rebranded Miss Republic of the Philippines Pageant, besting 34 other contestants from all over the Philippines and select Filipino communities abroad, in a four-hour pageant that culminated at past 1 am yesterday at The Theatre of Solaire in Parañaque City.

Miss Zambales Fermira Dianne Tumangan Ramos, a 5’8” BS Business Management graduate of AMA Computer University-Olongapo, was crowned as Miss Republic of the Philippines 2015 and was crowned with a 24K gold-plated, jewel encrusted crown (especially handcrafted by a deaf goldsmith from Meycauayan, Bulacan) by Josephine “Joy” Conde, the last woman to hold the title in 1976 before the national tilt was discontinued.
Thirty nine years, 2 sons and 2 grandchildren after she was crowned as Miss RP 1976-77 on July 3, 1976 at the Folk Arts Theater, Conde executed her farewell walk to the cheers of the misty-eyed audience.

Ramos, who now runs their family-owned business, won P100,000 in cash, a one-year management contract from the Miss Republic of the Philippines Organization headed by philanthropist Lynette Padolina, and a 4-year college scholarship from Informatics College which she plans to pass on to a fellow candidate who needs it most.

During the final interview round, Ramos was asked: “In this day and age, is it okay for a woman to express her love to the man she loves?” Beaming with confidence, she replied: “Yes. I will base it on the upbringing (I got) from my family. Actually coming from a very traditional, supportive but very broadminded family, it is okay to express our love to the man we love as long as we show it with integrity, self-respect and high moral values because that is the most important thing…”
The other major title, Miss Republic of the Philippines-International 2015, was won by Beatrice Ortega Valente, 22, a 5’9” Filipino-Italian beauty who is studying Graphic Arts at the Accademia di Brera in Milan, Italy. Valente also won the same prizes as Ramos.
Runners-up of equal ranking were: Miss Cavite Joselle S. Mariano, Miss RP-Luzon; Miss Valenzuela Sheila Marie D. Reyes, Miss RP-Visayas; and Miss Sta. Rosa City, Laguna Kristie Rose D. Cequeña, Miss RP-Mindanao.

MRP inside 1 copy

JUAN SAYS: We wish to commend the organizers of the said pageant for putting back the Philippine terno in the forefront of the competition. Nothing brings out the true beauty of the Filipina other than our very own National Costume. The ternos were provided by designers from Vatican Fashion Museum Designer/owner of this special store Ulysses King has this to say:

MRP inside 2 copy

“Our dear Oprah Winfrey quoted ” Lots of people want to ride with you in the limo, but what you want is someone who will take the bus with you when the limo breaks down.” To my fellow designers who consistently supported Vatican Fashion Museum
, I would just like to express my sincere thanks and appreciation to all your support and love in line with our recent partnership with Ms. Republic of the Philippines. It may not be perfect but not bad and in fact …good! as we were able to deliver the best for our talent and ingenuity through our Philippine Terno creations . I was never wrong on having you for this project- all professional, pro- active, passionate , dedicated ,quality oriented and excellent team workers.

MRP inside 3 copy

I guess, we can claim that we are the solid team who made the Philippine Terno for 2015 – the rebirth of Miss Republic of the Philippines! Congratulations everyone for a job well done!!! I am so proud to all of you!

MRP inside 4 copy

And of course, big thanks and congratulations to the CEO of Miss Republic of the Philippines, Ms. Lynette Padolina for giving us the opportunity to collaborate with this historical event.More power to all your projects and advocacies! Dave Ocampo Dexter Alazas Edgar San Diego Edwin Uy Eric B Delos Santos Fanny Tf Serrano Charlene Tiu Younghusband Jontie Martinez June Samson Pugat Kaye Castro Leehai Oprecio Nickky Martinez Ramon Esteban Roland Lirio Simon Ariel Vasquez Ulysses King Yako Reyes Antoinette Sto Domingo Escario Edmir Dequiña Lagui Jerome Navarro Christopher E Munar Mac Mendoza

MRP inside 5 copy

MRP inside 6 copy

MRP inside 7 copy

MRP inside 8

Facebook Comments